**Free Patterns**, double knitting, scarf

Scarf For the Birds Pattern

pdfbutton
ForTheBirds(Bigger charts are linked at the bottom of the page in case you need them.)

My foray into double knitting has come to a close and my daughter has claimed the resulting scarf for herself.  It’s nice that she likes it so much and it’ll go nicely with her silver jacket once the weather cools down… maybe next week?!?

For those who would like to reproduce, here’s the spill:

Skill Level- Beginner/Intermediate.  Must understand double knitting techniques.

Materials- 4 (50g) skeins worsted weight black and 4 (50g) skeins worsted weight red wool

Gauge- Gauge is not critical to this project; however, the pictured scarf was created on size 6 needles.  3.5 sts per inch in double knitted stockinette.

Directions:

Cast on 24 st plus desired edge stitches using your favorite cast on for double knitting.

Note:  If you are new to double knitting, there are many helpful video tutorials online.  Sites such as youtube.com or knitting website like knittinghelp.com contain helpful videos.ForTheBirds3

Work Chart 1 and then work Chart 2.

Bind off your stitches using your favorite bind off for double knitting.

Note:  Again, there are many great video tutorials that can be found online if you need help finding an appropriate bind off technique.

Chart2
Chart1
Chart1
Chart2

23 thoughts on “Scarf For the Birds Pattern”

  1. I love this scarf. My 8 year old is a BIG bird fan – he wants to turn everything into a bird feeder. He watches the birds out the window that come to our feeder and when I saw this scarf I had to favorite it in Ravelry so I could find it to make it for him – after I watch that video on double-knitting. 😀 Great design work.

    Like

    1. Awww. My favorite things to knit are things for my kids! I’ll bet he’s gonna love this.

      The youtube videos are great. That’s how I learned to double knit- just a couple of weeks ago. It’s been a skill that I’d been wanting to try out for a while.

      Thanks for your kind words. I’m really excited to see this scarf knit up by other knitters. I hope you’ll post a pic on your blog or on ravelry so we can see your work!

      Like

  2. This is so cool! I’d probably not start on the whole scarf at once but just give one of the birds a try. I definitely see my daughters wear this great scarf – if I ever manage the continental knitting technique. For now it’s just giving me a hand cramp :-s

    Like

    1. It definitely takes time and practice to get comfortable with a new knitting technique. When I learned the English style for Fair Isle, it wasn’t pretty. lol.

      If you start with one bird, you could turn it into an adorable reversible bird washcloth. 🙂

      Like

  3. This is a really cool scarf. My sister has done some double knitting so maybe I can convince her to make one for me…or maybe I could even try it myself. Mostly I’m a quilt artist but I try to do some quiet meditative knitting most mornings. Check out my blog at bucklandquilter.wordpress.com Thanks for the pattern.

    Like

  4. I love your designs! The monster pants are the cutest thing I’ve ever seen, really. We seem to have the same approach to knitting, I have to make difficult patterns or I get too bored to knit. Give me lace, cables, color work(sometimes all 3) or I can’t finish it! Thanks for sharing your patterns!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a reply.