**Free Patterns**, scarf

Beautiful Stash Buster- Noro Striped Scarf Pattern

2013-01-02 004pdfbutton
NoroChevronScarf.pdf

I’ve had this lone ball of Noro Silk Garden Sock yarn sitting on my shelf for a couple of years.  Every time I passed this ball, a twinge of guilt would hit for purchasing something that had no purpose or plan.

After knitting up a sweater, there were a several left over balls of blue when inspiration struck.  Combining the two yarns with a basic chevron pattern created an interesting scarf that my daughter loves.

This proj2013-01-03 002ect used one 100g ball of Noro Silk Garden Sock yarn (CC) and 2- 50 g balls of a DK-weight blue yarn (MC).

Gauge is 5 -5.5 stitches per inch on size 3 needles, although obtaining precise gauge isn’t critical to the project, and I’m a loose knitter.

C/O 47 stitches ( 3 repeats of 15 stitches plus 2 edge stitches)

Row 1 (RS): Using MC: k1 (edge) *k2tog, k5, YO, k1, YO, k5, SSK* repeat end k1 (edge)

Row 2 (WS): Using MC: k all stitches

Row 3 (RS): Using CC: k1 (edge) *k2tog, k5, YO, k1, YO, k5, SSK* repeat end k1 (edge)

Row 4 (WS): Using CC: k all stitches2013-01-03 008

Repeat these 4 rows until the scarf is as long as desired.  Then repeat the first two rows for symmetry and bind off in MC.

I have an extra ball of Chroma sitting around that will have to be turned into a similar chevron scarf…

16 thoughts on “Beautiful Stash Buster- Noro Striped Scarf Pattern”

    1. Thank you! This started out as a regular chevron pattern but with a minor change- knitting all the purl rows (because purling every other row is torturous!)… and it worked out better than planned.

      Like

  1. I love how your chevron scarf turned out! I knit one from my Noro book and I was a bit disappointed with it. It was much too big. This one looks like just the right size and if I didn’t already have 16 projects going, I would immediately CO for it! I have 2 different balls of Noro sitting around, so I see 2 of your chevron scarves in my future 🙂 Thanks for sharing the pattern!

    Like

  2. What a brilliant idea, and it looks really lovely. I love Noro but often they’re so naughty – knotty, know what I mean?

    Like

What do you think? Leave a reply.