BBASleeveMaybe I shouldn’t be using cuss words to name this new sweater for my nephew but I can’t seem to help myself.  The skulls and cross bones just seem to be screaming out for it.  Any alternative naming ideas are welcome because I am coming up empty handed.  Bad Ass sweater is just what keeps coming out of my mouth when I refer to my tiny project.

I’ve made it to the first sleeve.  It was a bit of a chore figuring out what row in the pattern to start the sleeve out with because I want the skulls to line up neatly when I join the sleeves to the body.  Hopefully my measurements were accurate.  And, I’m trying to figure out what sort of neckline I will use.  Babies have giant heads so I need either a V-neck to ensure it can get over his head or I need some buttons up top.  pattern

I’m thinking this is going to be a raglan with buttons in the center front or off-center along the raglan decreases.  Off-center may be more interesting with a green button band and a green collar.

I’m also thinking of writing this up as a pattern for ravelry but I have very little experience in baby-sizing.  There’s this handy sizing chart online http://www.craftyarncouncil.com/babysize.html that I’m thinking of using.

Since I have spent half of my morning on reading knitting blogs instead of knitting I don’t know how quickly this sweater is going to be completed but I’ve gotten inspiration for future projects.  🙂  I’m just going to have to muster up the discipline to finish this thing before I plunge ahead onto something new.

4 thoughts on “Bad Ass Sleeves

  1. It’s looking great. I really hope you do write up a pattern for this, I always seem to know someone having a baby and I’m sure someone would love this.

    Like

  2. That is fab. I tried to do a button placket at the shoulder on my first wee design but it went a bit wrong! I ended up doing an extra stretchy neck cast off but your off centre button band sounds good. Hope to see it on Ravelry soon!

    Like

What do you think? Leave a reply.

