FungiSlowThe pictured piece of fabric has taken 10+ hours to produce.  Normally, I’d be done with the body and have a sleeve started at this point.  I really, really hope I love this sweater when it’s finished.  At least the lightweight fabric will be nice for the spring… if I have it done by then.

I’m still not sure I’m digging the rainbow backdrop with all the little mushrooms.  However, my 13 YO daughter says she’ll take the sweater if I don’t want it.  🙂

Here’s the color chart for the mushrooms, should anyone else want to knit some of these little guys:

FungiChart

20 thoughts on “Sock Yarn = Snail’s Pace

    1. Thanks!

      On the subject of speed… I watched the “world’s fastest knitter” explain her technique for fast knitting online. I tried to recreate her movements which helped me with my speed a little but there’s just no way I could ever move my hands that fast and not screw up my knitting.

      Like

      1. I saw that youtube with the fastest knitter, too! I thought I was pretty fast, but I was nowhere near her. There’s also a very good youtube with the Yarn Harlot. She holds her needles in a way that I don’t think I ever could.

        Like

  1. I feel you when you say how slowly the sweater is coming along. I made a baby blanket with a 4ply yarn once and MY did that seem to take FOREVER! What didn’t help was I was in a rush to get the blanket completed in time for the baby’s birth. I didn’t make it in the end, but better late than never. I since learnt that 8ply is a much better choice 😀 My current baby blanket project uses 8ply and is knitting up much faster than the 4ply. Treat it as a project of patience 😉 I think it’s a waste to take it off the needles now, not just ‘cos of the effort you’ve already put in, but also because I think the pattern is looking lovely.

    Like

    1. Wow. A whole baby blanket must have taken months! I’ll bet it was beautiful!

      I think you’re right… and I’m feeling committed to finishing this one, even if it takes a whole month or longer.

      Like

What do you think? Leave a reply.

