TulliaFinished2I’m calling this sweater DONE.  The sweater is wearable but not my fave.  On paper, the collar is deep enough but the sweater wants to use the collar as part of the shoulder and the collar won’t stay rolled over.  The lacy stitch pattern has a tendency to stretch in strange places… like across the back of the shoulders helping stretch out the collar and eating into the fabric of the collar.  Maybe I should stabilize the neck line too?

TulliaFinishedI’m tired of trying to rescue this piece so it just may have to stay in its current form.  Will this sweater keep me warm?  Yes.  Would I buy this sweater off a rack at a store?  No.

I’m not sure what is up next on the needles.  My hubby says he’d like a man’s version of Olwen.  But, I also just got in some lace-weight yarn and I’ve never knitted a shawl… so maybe a shawl.  Although, I have several balls of Noro and some solid black yarn that I was thinking of turning into a color-stranded creation.

20 thoughts on “Tullia Finished – As Good As It’s Gonna Get

  1. Definitely stabilize the neck. I wish I had done this on a cardigan that ended up just sagging endlessly in the neck area. Catch it now before it gets worse. I tried elastic thread for this area too and it was worthless as the knit was too heavy for the elastic. I’d at least do the area across the back neckline between the shoulder seams. It may be your curved neckline at the back is being stretched straight — no matter what you do — and stabilizing will only control the amount of stretch. You may still lose your neckline curve. Your experience is really interesting to me because I have a knitted stole I want to rework into a kimono and I’m trying to figure out how big a neckline to carve into it.

    Like

    1. I took your advice and sewed a strip of twill tape inside the neck. There’s not a curve back there so that’s not a problem. The tape has helped A LOT and it looks much better. I’m still not in love with the sweater’s shawl neck but there’s now a much larger chance that I may be seen wearing it out in public. I think maybe I bound off the stitches too tightly so it isn’t wanting to lay down nicely.

      I haven’t ever knitted a kimono. I’m excited to see what you come up with.

      Like

  2. well it looks good to me, but I know it’s about the feel of the thing. So many possibilities for the next thing though – that’s the exciting bit!

    Like

      1. my failing I’m afraid – the next project always looks so much more exciting (and in my head the next project is always the one which is going to go perfectly)

        Like

      2. That happens in my head too! I start out a project certain that this one’s going to be a masterpiece and about halfway through I’m frustrated and ready to bail.

        Like

  3. stabilizing was a great idea. I will try to remember that next time I have a piece that just won’t control itself. I do hate when you get to the end of a project and it isn’t what you saw in your head, although, for me, that’s just about every project!

    Like

    1. It feels like a lot of my sweaters don’t work out so well. I think the main problem is that they stretch out in weird ways. I found some very old posts over on a knitting board discussing this issue. It seems that the more experienced knitters always stabilize their work, usually with crochet chains or sewn in ribbons or tapes. I wish I had discovered this necessity when I first started knitting. Not a single sweater pattern I’ve used ever mentioned stabilization!

      Like

  4. It looks great and it was really nice to follow your process. I think you should leave it for now… get stuck into something fresh… and then unravel the collar (uh – that means the button stand as well??) and re- knit the collar with short rows, so it is long enough to roll at the back… I do that with projects – just leave them and fix up later.

    Like

      1. I had an even better thought – leave button bands well alone – just undo one row in the middle of the collar (from center back to where the button band starts), treat it as an afterthought sort of thing… and just insert the short rows for the collar. Not sure if it will work – depends a bit on this and that – but this would save you a lot of work.

        Like

What do you think? Leave a reply.

